CUBE Bathymetric data Processing and Analysis

3 Data processing workflow diagram

The bathymetric data processing and analysis workflow is summarized in the following diagram. This diagram is derived from the Caris-HIPS tools documentation and is intended to simplify and standardize the CUBE bathymetric data processing within the Canadian Hydrographic Service. Each step is described in the following sections.

CHS CUBE bathymetric processing workflow

CHS CUBE bathymetric processing workflow

3.1 HIPS Vessel Files (HVFs)

The Hydrographic Vessel File (HVF) is a key component in the HIPS-SIPS data processing workflow. All the lever arms and offsets should be put either in the sounding system (i.e. SIS), the attitude system (i.e. POSMV) and or the HVF, depending on the system setup and processing methodology. All residual offsets found during a patch test or during the processing must be accounted for and put in the appropriate system or the HVF.

XYZ offsets values for TPU in the Standard Deviation line (HVF) are fixed. Vessel speed, loading, draft and delta draft are linked to draft table and must be populated if a draft table is used. Patch test accuracy values for alignment are put in MRU align StdDev for gyro and roll pitch. All other values come from manufacturer’s specs unless using the “error data” file from PosPac, in which case the HVF should be built with the WGS84 datum.

All the HVF files must be managed, kept up to date and distributed to the hydrographers. It is the hydrographer’s responsibility to use and apply the proper HVF files for each dataset.

3.2 Create project Convert the data

Project creation and data conversion are the necessary first steps of data processing. The hydrographers must know how to use the conversion tools to select and apply the appropriate parameters in order to ensure that the data is properly converted. A thorough verification of the converted data must be done to validate the conversion. Refer to Caris-HIPS manual and or regional ISO procedures for details.

3.3 Load True Heave

It is highly recommended to log TrueHeave data during acquisition in order that the computed heave values may be applied to the hydrographic data in post-processing. Note that “Load True Heave” will also load True Heave RMS data.

Note that at the time of this writing, TrueHeave RMS will automatically be used over GPS height RMS.

3.4 Load Attitude Navigation data

It is highly recommended to record PosPac raw data during the acquisition. PosPac processing enhance the navigation and attitude data recorded in real time. The Smoothed Best Estimate of Trajectory (SBET) files can be loaded using “Load Navigation Attitude Data”. New HDCS navigation and or attitude files will be created with a new date extension. This can also be verified with the Line Query tool. Using a SBET file, the project should be conducted in WGS84 datum.

Navigation data (from other GPS post-processed software) can also be loaded using the Generic Data Parser.

3.5 Load error data

If SBET files have been loaded, the associated RMS error data files can be loaded in HIPS. These RMS values will override the fixed errors values from the HVF files.

3.6 Sound velocity correction

Sound velocity correction can be done in real time or in post-processing depending of the sounding system setup.

Sound Velocity at transducer head should always been logged. If offsets between SV at the transducer and SVP cast are greater than 5m , a new cast should be done.

SVP acquisition frequency is determined by the order of the survey and the local water column characteristic of the survey area and should be done on a regular basis when operationally practical.

Note that it is possible to merge SVP files into one single file for SVP post processing (using options closest in time and or position). Make sure time and position are correctly documented in each SVP file.

3.7 Load Tide

Tide can either come from a loaded tide file (gauge, staff, prediction, etc.) or by using the Compute GPS Tide if GPS height data is available (SBET, RTK, PPK, etc.).

The Compute GPS Tide options must be carefully selected based on setup to ensure that certain parameters are not double applied or that they need to be removed from the solution. GPS Tide Time Series may be filtered when required.

In all cases, vertical reference information must be provided by the Regional Tidal Officer.

3.8 Merge

Merging the data will apply all the offsets and attitude values to position all the bathymetry. Hydrographers must ensure that the proper parameters are selected while merging the data.

3.9 Compute TPU

TPU values in the hvf files as well as those entered in the Compute TPU window are set at 1 sigma.

3.9.1 Compute TPU window

TPU Tide values when Tide files are applied should come from the Tidal officer. The instrument precision, the datum precision and the distance from a Tide Station must be taken into account:

σ Tide = σ Inst 2 + σ Datum 2 + σ Zoning 2

The first two components are used in the measured tide uncertainty calculation, the last one is used for the zoning calculation. It is important to note that if True Heave is loaded while using a GPS water level reduction strategy, it is possible to enter an estimate of the height error in one of the tide sections to capture it in the TPU computation.

Sound speed values come from the manufacturer’s specifications. If the data is corrected for refraction, the values should be different than if no corrections were applied. Try to put the most realistic values in order to have the most representative results by propagating the spatial temporal uncertainty estimate with the instrument uncertainty:

σ Tide = σ Inst 2 + σ spacial temporal 2

If “Error data” has been loaded, this option must be checked in the Uncertainty source section.

3.10 Define new Fieldsheet

The fieldsheet must cover the surveyed area (or a specific area to be processed). Once the fieldsheet is created, it must not be altered during the CUBE processing stages. Changing the limits of the fieldsheet will move the cells location in the bathymetric surface and necessarily change the computed CUBE solution. If the first CUBE surface was validated, it will have to be re-validated. In order to avoid problems during the process, all the parameters of the fieldsheet (projection, limits, etc.) must be carefully selected.

3.11 Generate base surface

Choosing the CUBE surface resolution is critical. The sounding density, the sounder footprint and the precision of the survey (XYZ) must be considered while determining the final resolution. Note that the Base Surface resolution must never be finer then the sounder footprint resolution. Single resolution should be used until variable resolution is implemented. Suggested resolution can be found in Table 1.

The proper CHS Order must be selected in step 3 of the creation wizard. Note that the values for Exclusive Order can be entered manually (user defined). Suggested Order can be found in Table 1.

It is recommended to use the default parameter values (default, shallow, depth) included in the CARIS Base Surface Wizard (step 4). It is suggested to compare surfaces made using the shallow, default and the deep settings and if there are no differences, default should be used. If differences occur, shallow or deep setting may yield a more desirable result.

Select Default Shallow Deep

Select Default Shallow Deep

3.12 Data QC and Filtering

Data validating is an iterative process. It may be necessary to repeat the previous steps when major problems are detected (refraction, water level, positioning, attitude, etc.) CUBE Processing is defined as a method for validating or controlling the CUBE base surface quality, either by filtering, designating, rejecting soundings, etc. in the appropriate tools (ie. navigation, attitude, subset or swath editors). Considering that the CUBE Base Surface is the final product, filtering of the HDCS data based on the Base Surface is not mandatory but may be desired.

The focus and most time spent on surface validation and sounding designation should be put on areas with depths less than 50m or areas requiring special attention due to specific navigational characteristics or requirements. In deeper areas, a visual inspection of the Base Surface and its various statistical layers should be used to detect anomalies or blunders requiring attention. In general, the data 50m and deeper should be processed primarily using automated methods.

During this process the hydrographer may find that the Survey Order defined while creating the Base Surface is not appropriate. A new Base Surface must be created and re-processed.

3.13 Finalize Surface

It is suggested to use “Uncertainty” as a final uncertainty value, but Standard Deviation can be used if desired. Apply designated soundings should always be selected if the critical soundings layer is present. This ensures that the shoal soundings are preserved in the surface.

To avoid sounding selection conflicts with the designated soundings in the cartographic process, it is recomended to remove the « Designated Sounding » layer from the finalized Base Surface.

3.14 BDB

The Bathymetric DataBase is implemented differently in each region. Hydrographer must refer to the regional ISO procedures before loading data.

3.15 CHSDir

Metadata for each dataset must be entered in CHSDir. Hydrographer must refer to the regional ISO procedures.

3.16 Create product

Surveys may be requested by an external client. Regions have defined their own procedures for product creation or data delivery. Hydrographer must refer to the regional ISO procedures.

Date modified:

Traitement et analyse des données bathymétriques de CUBE

3 Diagramme du flux de travail relatif au traitement des données

Le flux de traitement et l'analyse des données bathymétriques est résumé dans le diagramme suivant. Ce diagramme est dérivé de la documentation des outils Caris-HIPS et vise à simplifier et à normaliser le traitement des données bathymétriques à l’aide de CUBE au sein du Service hydrographique du Canada. Chaque étape est décrite dans les sections suivantes.

Flux de travail relatif au traitement des données bathymétriques CUBE

Flux de travail relatif au traitement des données bathymétriques CUBE

3.1 Fichiers de configuration des navires (HVF)

Le fichier de configuration des navires (HVF) est un élément clé du flux de de traitement des données HIPS-SIPS. Tous les bras de levier et les décalages doivent être indiqués dans l'équipement de sondage (c.-à-d. SIS), la centrale d'attitude (c.-à-d. POS/MV) ou le HVF, en fonction du paramétrage de l'équipement et de la méthode de traitement. Tous les décalages résiduels repérés pendant un « patch test » ou pendant le traitement doivent être justifiés et consignés dans le système adéquat ou dans le HVF.

Dans la section Écart Type (Standard Deviation) de la section TPU, les décalages vertical et horizontaux (xyz offset) sont fixes. La vitesse, le chargement du navire, le tirant d'eau et l’écart sur le tirant d'eau du navire sont liés à la table des tirants d'eau et doivent être inscrits si une telle table est utilisée. Les valeurs de précision pour l'alignement déterminés lors du « patch test » sont indiquées dans Écart type de l'alignement du MRU pour le gyroscope et le roulis/tangage. Toutes les autres valeurs proviennent des spécifications du fabricant, sauf en cas d'utilisation du fichier « données sur les erreurs » de PosPac, auquel cas le fichier HVF du navire hydrographique devra être construit en utilisant le système de référence géodésique WGS84.

Tous les fichiers HVF doivent être gérés, maintenus à jour et communiqués aux hydrographes. Il revient à l'hydrographe d'utiliser et d'appliquer les fichiers HVF appropriés à chaque ensemble de données.

3.2 Création de projets / Conversion des données

La création de projets et la conversion des données sont les premières étapes nécessaires au traitement des données. Les hydrographes doivent savoir comment utiliser les outils de conversion pour sélectionner et appliquer les paramètres adéquats pour effectuer une bonne conversion des données. Une vérification rigoureuse des données converties doit être effectuée pour valider la conversion. Il faut consulter le manuel Caris-HIPS ainsi que les procédures ISO régionales pour obtenir des détails.

3.3 Chargement de True Heave

Il est fortement recommandé de charger les données de True Heave pendant l'acquisition, afin d’appliquer les valeurs calculées de pilonnement (Heave) aux données hydrographiques lors du post-traitement. Noter que ‘Load True Heave’ chargera également les données sur l’imprécision (RMS ou valeur quadratique moyenne).

Il convient de remarquer qu'au moment de la rédaction du présent document, la valeur quadratique moyenne (RMS) de True Heave sera automatiquement utilisée, plutôt que valeur quadratique moyenne (RMS) de la hauteur GPS.

3.4 Chargement des données d'attitude / de navigation

Il est fortement recommandé d'enregistrer les données brutes de PosPac pendant l'acquisition. Le traitement PosPac améliore généralement les données de navigation et d'attitude enregistrées en temps réel. Les fichiers de meilleure estimation de trajectoire lissée (SBET) peuvent être chargés à l'aide de la fonction « Load Navigation/Attitude Data ». De nouveaux fichiers de navigation et/ou d'attitude seront créés dans la structure de fichiers HDCS avec un suffixe correspondant à la date de création. Cela peut également être vérifié avec l'outil Line Query. Si l'on utilise un fichier SBET, le projet doit être dans le système de référence géodésique WGS84.

Les données sur la navigation (provenant d'un autre logiciel de post-traitement GPS) peuvent également être chargées à l'aide de l’outil « Generic Data Parser ».

3.5 Chargement des données sur les erreurs

Si des fichiers SBET ont été chargés, les fichiers d’erreur RMS (valeur quadratique moyenne) associés peuvent être chargés dans HIPS. Ces valeurs RMS auront préséance sur les valeurs d’erreurs fixes inscrites dans les fichiers HVF.

3.6 Correction de la vitesse du son

La correction de la vitesse du son peut être effectuée en temps réel ou au cours du post-traitement, en fonction des paramètres de l'équipement de sondage.

La vitesse du son à la tête du transducteur doit toujours être enregistrée. Si les différences entre la vitesse du son au niveau du transducteur et le profil de vitesse du son (SVP) sont supérieurs à 5 m/s, il faut effectuer un nouveau profil.

L'acquisition du profil de vitesse du son est réalisée à une fréquence déterminée par l'ordre du levé et les caractéristiques de la colonne d'eau locale de la zone du levé. Elle doit être effectuée régulièrement lorsque cela est possible d'un point de vue opérationnel.

veuillez noter qu'il est possible de fusionner les fichiers SVP en un seul fichier pour le post-traitement SVP (à l'aide des options « plus proches en temps et/ou en position »). Il faut s'assurer que le temps et la position sont correctement entrés dans chaque fichier SVP.

3.7 Chargement des marées

La marée provient soit d'un fichier de marées chargé (marégraphe, jauge, prévision, etc.), soit de l'utilisation d’une marée GPS calculée, si les données sur la hauteur GPS sont disponibles (SBET, RTK, PPK, etc.).

Il faut sélectionner avec soin les options de calcul des marées GPS lors du calcul pour s'assurer que certains paramètres ne sont pas appliqués deux fois ou qu'ils doivent être supprimés de la solution. Les séries temporelles de marées GPS peuvent être filtrées au besoin.

Dans tous les cas, l'information sur les références verticales doit être fournie par l'agent régional des Marées.

3.8 Fusion

La fusion des données (Merge) appliquera toutes les valeurs d’écarts et d'attitude pour positionner la bathymétrie. Les hydrographes doivent s'assurer de sélectionner les bons paramètres lorsqu'ils fusionnent des données.

3.9 Calcul de la TPU (incertitude propagée totale)

Les valeurs de la TPU dans les fichiers HVF, ainsi que celles saisies dans la fenêtre de calcul de la TPU, sont fixées à 1 sigma.

3.9.1 Fenêtre de calcul de la TPU

Lorsque les fichiers de marées sont appliqués, les valeurs de la TPU sur les marées doivent provenir de l'agent des Marées. La précision des instruments et du système de référence géodésique, ainsi que la distance par rapport à une station d'observation des marées doivent être prises en compte :

σ Tide = σ Inst 2 + σ Datum 2 + σ Zoning 2

Les deux premiers éléments sont utilisés dans le calcul de l'incertitude de la marée mesurée, tandis que le dernier est utilisé pour le calcul du zonage. Il est important de noter que si le True Heave est chargé alors qu'on utilise une réduction du niveau d'eau par GPS, il est possible de saisir une estimation de l'erreur de hauteur dans l'une des sections sur les marées, afin de la prendre en compte dans le calcul de la TPU.

Les valeurs d’incertitudes de la vitesse du son proviennent des spécifications du fabricant. Si les données sont corrigées pour la réfraction, les valeurs doivent être différentes de celles entrées si la réfraction n’a pas été corrigée. Il faut essayer de saisir les valeurs les plus réalistes pour obtenir les résultats les plus représentatifs en propageant l'estimation de l'incertitude de l'instrument et l'estimation de l'incertitude spatiale/temporelle :

σ Tide = σ Inst 2 + σ spacial temporal 2

Si des « données sur les erreurs » ont été chargées, cette option doit être cochée dans la section source de l'incertitude (Uncertainty).

3.10 Définition de nouvelles minutes hydrographiques

Les minutes hydrographiques (Fieldsheet) doivent couvrir la zone du levé (ou une zone précise à traiter). Une fois créées, les minutes hydrographiques ne doivent pas être modifiées pendant les étapes de traitement CUBE. Le fait de changer les limites des minutes hydrographiques déplacera l'emplacement des cellules dans la surface bathymétrique et modifiera nécessairement la solution calculée par CUBE. Si la première surface CUBE a été validée, elle devra être validée de nouveau. Pour éviter les problèmes pendant le processus, il est impératif de sélectionner soigneusement tous les paramètres des minutes hydrographiques (projection, limites, etc.).

3.11 Génération de la surface CUBE

Le choix de la résolution de la surface CUBE est critique. La densité des sondes, l'empreinte des sondeurs (footprint) et la précision du levé (XYZ) doivent être prises en compte lors de la détermination de la résolution finale. Il convient de noter que la résolution de la surface ne doit jamais être plus fine que celle de l'empreinte des sondeurs. Une seule résolution doit être utilisée jusqu'à ce qu'une résolution variable soit implantée. La résolution suggérée se trouve dans le Tableau 1.

Il faut sélectionner l'ordre de levé (SHC) approprié à l'étape 3 de l'assistant de création de la surface de base. Il convient de noter que les valeurs de l'ordre exclusif peuvent être saisies manuellement (définies par l'utilisateur). L'ordre suggéré se trouve dans le Tableau 1.

Il est recommandé d'utiliser les paramètres par défaut (default [par défaut], shallow [peu profond], depth [profond]) incluses dans l'assistant de création de la surface (étape 4). Il est suggéré de comparer les surfaces obtenues à l'aide des options « shallow », « default » et « depth » et, s'il n'y a pas de différence, d'utiliser la valeur par défaut. En cas de différences, l’option « shallow » ou « depth » peut donner un meilleur résultat.

Sélectionner Default Shallow Depth

Sélectionner Default Shallow Depth

3.12 Contrôle de la qualité et filtrage des données

La validation des données est un processus itératif. Il peut être nécessaire de répéter les étapes précédentes lorsque des problèmes majeurs sont détectés (réfraction, niveau d'eau, positionnement, attitude, etc.). Le traitement CUBE est défini comme une méthode de validation ou de contrôle de la qualité de la surface CUBE en filtrant, en désignant ou en rejetant des sondes, etc. dans les outils appropriés (c.-à-d. « Navigation editor », « Attitude editor », « Subset editor » ou « Swath editor »). Étant donné que la surface CUBE est le produit final, le filtrage des données HDCS à partir de la surface de base n'est pas obligatoire, mais peut être souhaitable.

Pour la validation des surfaces et la désignation des sondes, il faut concentrer les efforts et la majeure partie du temps sur les zones dont la profondeur est inférieure à 50 m ou celles qui nécessitent une attention particulière en raison de caractéristiques ou d'exigences de navigation précises. Dans les zones plus profondes, il faut recourir à une inspection visuelle de la surface et de ses diverses couches statistiques pour détecter les anomalies ou les endroits à examiner. En général, il faut employer essentiellement des méthodes automatisées pour traiter les données des zones de 50 m de profondeur ou plus.

Au cours de ce processus, l'hydrographe peut trouver que l'ordre des levés défini lors de la création de la surface de base n'est pas approprié. Il faut alors créer une nouvelle surface et la traiter de nouveau.

3.13 Finalisation de la surface

Il est suggéré d'utiliser « Uncertainty » comme valeur de l'incertitude finale, mais l'écart type peut être utilisé au besoin. Il faut toujours choisir d’inclure les sondes désignées si la couche des sondes critiques est présente. Cela garantit que les sondes des hauts fonds sont préservés dans la surface.

Pour éviter les conflits de sélection des sondes avec les sondes désignées au cours du processus de production cartographique, il est recommandé de supprimer la couche « Designated soundings » dans la surface finale.

3.14 BDB

La base de données bathymétrique est implantée différemment dans chaque région. L'hydrographe doit se référer aux procédures ISO régionales avant de charger des données.

3.15 Répertoire du SHC

Les métadonnées de chaque ensemble de données doivent être saisies dans CHSDir. L'hydrographe doit consulter les procédures ISO régionales.

3.16 Création du produit

Des levés peuvent être demandés par un client externe. Les régions ont défini leurs propres procédures pour la création de produits ou la livraison des données. L'hydrographe doit consulter les procédures ISO régionales.

Date de modification :