Hydrographic Survey Management Guidelines

4 Error management and equipment calibration

The management of uncertainty consists of several steps and elements. The main uncertainty management steps are:

  • Pre-analysis (survey design), where an estimate of the error contributions from random error sources is made in order to determine whether the equipment proposed for the survey will allow the resultant survey to meet or exceed specifications (refer to “CUBE Bathymetric data Processing and Analysis (CHS February 2012)”),
  • control of errors through calibration and good survey practices,
  • evaluation, where the survey results are analysed to determine whether surveys specifications have been met and
  • documentation, where individual objects, such as soundings, navigational aids, etc., are given uncertainty attributes, and/or the metadata elements of uncertainty for the whole survey project are documented so that potential users may determine if the data set is fit for their particular purpose. For example, TPU contributors such as the SBET RMS error data file, the tidal uncertainty, Vessel configuration file, etc.

The main uncertainty elements are:

  • Systematic errors or biases, which are due to system offsets that have not been properly accounted for by proper survey procedure such as system calibration,
  • random errors, which are due to noise in the measurement process used,
  • blunders or accidental errors, which might be due to system failures, environmental conditions and human errors that are beyond our ability to control.

4.1 Systematic Errors

Systematic errors can be reduced to negligible levels through careful calibration procedures prior to each survey. In addition, a verification that systematic errors or biases are mitigated should be conducted regularly (daily in some cases) and whenever changes are made to hardware, software or firmware as the survey progresses.

All equipment to be used during the field survey must be field-tested and, if need be, calibrated prior to leaving for the field survey site. No matter how well an instrument may have been adjusted when it left the manufacturer or the maintenance shop, there is always the possibility of damage to equipment during shipping due to vibration, shock or temperature change. Some equipment may also require field testing on site prior to survey operations. Users should refer to the various owners’ manuals and to the QMS hydrographic survey procedures to ensure that the instruments are properly tested and functioning according to established specifications.

As a minimum, the following should be done:

  • GPS receivers are to be checked over known control monuments
  • All distance-measuring equipment shall be checked against a calibration baseline. The baseline should be of a higher accuracy than the manufacturer’s specified accuracy. Additionally a zero constant value for the instrument should be established.
  • Barometers and psychrometers must be calibrated.
  • Range finders should be checked against known distances.
  • Theodolites shall be checked for errors due to poor horizontal collimation, parallax, vertical index error and for other instrumental imperfections. All moving parts shall be checked to ensure proper operation.
  • Levels should be peg-tested and rods be calibrated by comparison with a standard.
  • The water level gauges and staffs to be used during the survey should be checked.
  • Echo sounders should be checked under field conditions, preferably on the work platforms that they are installed on.
  • Sound speed profilers must be compared on an annual basis and problematic probes must be calibrated (consult manufacturer for recommended re-calibration interval).
  • Bar checks, poles and lead lines should be measured to ensure the distance markers are correctly fastened.

All computers, computer programs, and networks should be checked to ensure their working order in a remote field environment.

The various software packages used to acquire, process and analyze the various bathymetric data collected should be checked to ensure that they work properly and that the approved updates (service packs, hotfixes) and drivers are being used. The latest release versions should be used at the discretion of the Project Manager. Backups for these various software packages should be available and stored in a secure place in case of need.

All instruments will have to be re-verified and if necessary re-calibrated after being repaired or after changes have been made (electronic card replacements, computer adjustments, etc.). A record of repairs and changes shall be maintained.

4.1.1 Calibration of sounding systems

The echo sounding systems will require an initial calibration before the sounding platform is to be operational in the field.

4.1.1.1 Multi-transducer and Multibeam systems

Multi-transducer and multibeam systems are complex echo sounding systems and need careful adjustment and calibration prior to leaving for the field.

Alignment and offset parameters (distances) between the various sensors of the multi-transducer or multibeam system and the reference point of the vessel must be physically measured and input into the system’s computer. These measurements are usually done after the system has been installed or when some of the equipment has been replaced or relocated.

The following should be done at the beginning of the field season and before leaving for the field or whenever a piece of equipment is replaced or repaired:

  • attitude sensor testing and verification,
  • bar check to measure transducer draft,
  • transducer or boom alignment,
  • gyro alignment determined using accurate land-survey techniques or, other methods such as a patch test,
  • squat and settlement tests, and
  • check and calibrate the time delays between the positioning system, the recorded soundings and the attitude sensor readings.
  • Initiate a patch calibration procedure

A patch test should be done to quantify any residual biases in the initial alignment and offsets. This test consists of running reciprocal lines at various speeds, depths and bottom terrain and comparing the results obtained. Lines run perpendicular to smooth sloping bottom (preferably capturing the apex) will be used to check data latency and pitch. Reciprocal lines run along a smooth flat bottom will verify roll. Lines run on both sides of a defined feature such as a wreck, can determine gyro offset.

The data obtained should be carefully analyzed and adjustments made accordingly. The results of this test should be documented, recorded and made available upon request. Note that this test can also be done in the work area.

More information on patch test calibration can be found in “The Calibration of Shallow Water Multibeam Echo-Sounding Systems” by André Godin, 1997.

Once all adjustments and calibrations have been performed, the system should be used to run a series of parallel and perpendicular sounding lines over a reference bottom surface where the depths have been previously determined and verified with an independent system. The results obtained should compare favourably and be within the accuracy requirements of the survey order as specified in Table 1 of the CHS Standards for Hydrographic surveys.

Tests should also be run to ascertain that the system can in fact detect targets of the minimum size required by the specified order of the survey.

4.1.1.2 Single beam

Single beam echo sounders installed in the sounding platforms that will be used during the actual survey should be given a trial run to ensure that the echo sounders and the rest of the equipment perform according to their specifications. Bar checking the system to measure draft and verify speed of sound is necessary. Where higher order results are required, system checks such as squat and settlement tests, gyro or attitude sensor alignment and sensor offsets are necessary.

4.2 Random Errors

Random errors (equipment noise), unlike systematic errors, cannot be eliminated. However, it is possible to estimate the affects that random errors will have on the outcome of the survey (pre-analysis), to mitigate or reduce their effects (survey design and instrument selection) and to evaluate the quality of the survey, both as the survey progresses (real-time quality assurance – RTQA) and at the conclusion of the survey. A post-survey assessment allows attribution of each object with uncertainty values and a global assessment of the survey quality for the purposes of metadata creation. This in turn provides users of the data set the information they need to determine if it is fit for their purpose.

Pre-analysis can be done, e.g. using an EXCEL spreadsheet. Values for each random error contribution can be assigned at 1 sigma (standard deviation, RMS, CEP, etc.) and propagated as the square root of the sum of squares (the variances). This is known as propagation of random variances. For single beam echo sounders this is quite simple (e.g. see Professional Paper No. 25 from UKHO). For multibeam echo sounders, it’s a bit more complex (e.g. see R. Hare, A. Godin and L. Mayer, “Accuracy Estimation of Canadian Swath (Multi-beam) and Sweep (Multi-Transducer) Sounding Systems”, 1995).

Several navigation and logging packages have built-in real-time assessment tools that look at standard deviation of the bathymetric surface. Combined Uncertainty and Bathymetry Estimator (CUBE) is an example of a real-time assessment tool implemented in acquisition and processing packages (see § 4.3.1). As new data are added, the standard deviation of the bathymetric surface can be reduced because of the increased number of measurements. Consider that the standard deviation of the mean is always smaller than the standard deviation of a single measurement.

4.2.1 Total Propagated Uncertainty (TPU)

As stated in the CHS Standards for Hydrographic Surveys, the accuracy of the reduced depths must be determined. In determining this accuracy all sources of individual errors need to be quantified in order to determine the Total Propagated Uncertainty (TPU). The following are some of the sources of errors that must be considered:

  • static draft setting,
  • dynamic draft, including settlement and squat,
  • speed of sound changes,
  • instrumental errors,
  • roll, pitch and heave,
  • navigation timing,
  • water level readings or GPS heights,
  • tide or separation models.

Position and depth precision estimates are calculated separately as the square-root of the sum of the variances (root-sum-square (RSS)) from all error sources. This approach assumes therefore that all errors are uncorrelated, unbiased and follow a normal (Gaussian) distribution. In the instances where such an assumption is not valid, an estimate of the error introduced into the estimation process will be given.

As there are some error sources which are not well understood, initial estimates will be based on some elementary testing of a limited number of data sets. In order to validate these estimates, independent ground-truth (validation) data sets will be used as a method of post-calibrating the error estimation process.

In order to estimate the effects of temporal change on bathymetry, the approach of Velberg [1993] is followed. This approach requires that the error due to the dynamic nature of the seafloor is known or can be estimated.

In order to form an error budget, estimates of all independent random errors sources, at the same level of confidence, are required. More information on TPE and the computation process can be found in the document “Estimation of Bathymetric Accuracy Attributes and their Implementation in the Source Data Base, 1996, R. M. Hare”.

4.3 Blunders

The last category of errors is blunders, or accidental errors. Unlike systematic errors, these cannot be eliminated by careful survey procedures. Unlike random errors, they cannot be estimated in advance of the survey and they cannot be reduced by making additional measurements. Blunders can, however, be detected and removed if sufficient redundancy exists in the survey network and there is sufficient precision in the survey measurements. In control networks, the term minimally detectable blunder (MDB) is often used. For bathymetry, very dense data sets (e.g. high-resolution multibeam) make it possible to detect blunders where they do not fit (statistically) with the values of their neighbours. There are numerous statistical approaches to blunder detection in multibeam data.

For single-beam echo sounder surveys, the lack of data density means that detecting small blunders is much less likely. The reliability of multibeam surveys is much higher due to the detection capability. This is the reason such surveys are recommended in harbours, approaches and critical areas.

4.3.1 CUBE (Combined Uncertainty and Bathymetry Estimator)

CUBE uses soundings and their associated uncertainty estimates (see § 4.2) as input and through spatial and uncertainty weighting, while also relying on the very high data density of multibeam data sets, outputs a bathymetry gridded surface and its associated uncertainty (error) surface. In addition, it tracks the statistical hypotheses for each depth point, and where there is more than one estimate, makes an attempt to determine which the most likely value is. This makes it a very powerful tool for identifying and removing blunders in the data. Once these have been removed from the data, CUBE is rerun to generate the final bathymetry and uncertainty surfaces. See “CUBE Bathymetric data Processing and Analysis (CHS February 2012)”. The uncertainty surface is a quantification of the survey quality, which can be compared against specifications and used as input to the metadata for the survey.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices de gestion de levés hydrographiques

4 Gestion des erreurs et étalonnage d'équipements

La gestion des incertitudes comprend plusieurs étapes et éléments. Les principales étapes de gestion des incertitudes sont :

  • la pré analyse (conception de levés), ou une estimation de la contribution des erreurs aléatoires provenant de diverses sources d’erreurs est faite pour définir si l’équipement envisagé pour les levés va donner des résultats conformes ou supérieurs aux spécifications (se référer au document « CUBE - Traitement et analyse de données – (SHC Février 2012) »),
  • contrôle des erreurs par l’étalonnage et les bonnes pratiques de levés,
  • évaluation des résultats des levés, afin de déterminer si les spécifications de levés ont été atteintes, et
  • documentation, ou chaque entité comme des sondes, des aides à la navigation, etc. se voit attribuer un degré d’incertitude, et/ou des métadonnées sur le degré d’incertitude pour l’ensemble du projet de levés, de manière à permettre aux utilisateurs de déterminer si l’ensemble de données répond à leurs besoins particuliers. Par exemple, les erreurs résiduelles, tel que les données SBET, les incertitudes sur la marée, le fichier de configuration des embarcations, etc. qui contribuent au TPU.

Les principaux éléments d’incertitudes sont :

  • des erreurs systématiques ou des écarts résultant d’écarts dans les paramètres des systèmes qui n’aurait pas tenu compte au moyen d’une procédure de levés, comme l’étalonnage du système,
  • erreurs aléatoires dues au parasites (bruit de fond) présent au cours du processus de mesure,
  • des fautes ou des erreurs accidentelles qui pourraient être dues à de mauvais fonctionnements d’appareils, aux conditions environnementales et aux facteurs humains, qui sont au-delà de tout contrôle.

4.1 Erreurs systématiques

Les erreurs systématiques peuvent être réduites à des niveaux négligeables en appliquant soigneusement les procédures d’étalonnage avant chaque levé. De plus, il faudrait effectuer une vérification régulière (quotidienne, dans certains cas) et après chaque modification apportée aux équipements, aux logiciels et aux micrologiciels, pour s’assurer au fur et à mesure de la progression des levés que les erreurs ou les fautes soient atténuées.

Tout l’équipement qui va être utilisé sur le terrain doit être vérifié sur le terrain, et, s’il y a lieu, étalonné avant à son transport vers le secteur des levés. Durant le transport, il y a toujours des possibilités d’avarie due aux vibrations, chocs, écarts de température, etc., peu importe le degré de précision avec lequel un équipement a été ajusté au moment de son transport de l’usine ou de l’atelier. Certains appareils doivent aussi faire l’objet d’essais-terrain sur le site des levés avant leur utilisation. Les utilisateurs devraient se référer aux guides des utilisateurs et aux procédures SGQ de levés hydrographiques pour s’assurer que les essais requis aient été faits sur les instruments et qu’ils fonctionnent selon les spécifications définies.

Il faut au moins effectuer les opérations suivantes :

  • les récepteurs GPS doivent être vérifiés sur des points de contrôle connus,
  • tous les équipements de mesure de distances devraient être vérifiés sur une base géodésique d’étalonnage. Les bases géodésiques devraient avoir une précision plus grande que celle spécifiée par le fabricant; de plus, il faudrait définir une valeur constante du zéro pour l’appareil,
  • les baromètres et les psychromètres doivent être étalonnés,
  • les télémètres devraient être vérifiés par rapport à des distances connues,
  • les théodolites devraient être vérifiés pour détecter les erreurs de colimaçon, parallaxe, erreur d’index vertical et toutes autres imprécisions de l’instrument. Toutes les parties mobiles doivent être vérifiées pour assurer leur bon fonctionnement,
  • les niveaux devraient être vérifiés (au moyen du « peg-test ») et les mires devraient être étalonnées par comparaison avec un étalon,
  • les enregistreurs et les échelles de niveau d’eau qui seront utilisées au cours du levé devraient être vérifiés,
  • les échosondeurs devraient être vérifiés en conditions-terrain, préférablement sur les plates-formes de travail sur lesquelles ils sont installés,
  • les profileurs de vitesse du son doivent être comparés sur une base annuelle et les senseurs problématiques doivent être étalonnés (voir les instructions du fabricant pour les fréquences d’étalonnage recommandés),
  • les barres d’étalonnage, les jalons et les plombs de sonde devraient être mesurés pour s’assurer que les marqueurs de distance soient bien arrimés.

Tous les ordinateurs, tous les programmes et les réseaux informatiques devraient être vérifiés pour s’assurer qu’ils soient fonctionnels dans un environnement terrain.

Les différentes suites de logiciels utiliséss pour acquérir, traiter et analyser les diverses données bathymétriques recueillies devraient être vérifiés pour s’assurer qu’ils fonctionnent correctement et que les mises à jour ( « service packs, hotfixes ») et les pilotes officiels soient installés. L’utilisation des dernières versions des mises à jour est laissée à l’appréciation du chef de projet. Des copies de sauvegarde de ces différents suites de logiciels devraient être disponibles et entreposées dans des endroits sûrs en vue d’une utilisation éventuelle.

Tous les instruments devraient être revérifiés et, au besoin, être réétalonnés après avoir subi une réparation ou des modifications (remplacement de cartes électroniques, ajustements d’ordinateurs, etc.). Il faut consigner toutes les réparations et modifications.

4.1.1 Étalonnage des équipements de sondage

Les systèmes de sondage requièrent un étalonnage avant la mise en fonction de la plate-forme de sondage sur le terrain.

4.1.1.1 Multitransducteurs et multifaisceaux

Les systèmes multitransducteurs et multifaisceaux sont des dispositifs complexes d’échosondage et nécessitent un ajustement et un étalonnage minutieux avant d’être utilisé sur le terrain.

Il faut mesurer physiquement les paramètres d’alignements et les distances entre les différentes senseurs des systèmes multitransducteurs ou multifaisceaux, de même que le point de référence du bateau, et saisir l’information dans l’ordinateur du système. Ces mesures sont généralement effectuées après que le système ait été installé ou lorsqu’un appareil a été remplacé ou déplacé.

Au début de la saison de levé et avant de se rendre sur le terrain, ou à chaque fois qu’un appareil a été remplacé ou déplacé, il faut :

  • effectuer des essais et des vérifications du senseur d’attitude,
  • utiliser une barre d’étalonnage pour mesurer le tirant d’eau du transducteur,
  • vérifier l’alignement du transducteur ou du bras de support du transducer,
  • vérifier l’alignement du gyro à l’aide de techniques précises d’arpentage terrestre ou par d’autres méthodes comme le « patch test »,
  • effectuer des essais de déjaugeage et d’enfoncement (« squat »), et
  • vérifier et corriger les délais de temps entre les systèmes de positionnement, de sondage et le senseur d’attitude.

Un « patch test » devrait être effectué pour quantifier les écarts résiduels de l’alignement initial et les décalages. Ce test consiste à effectuer plusieurs lignes de sondage réciproques à des vitesses, profondeurs et fonds différents pour ensuite comparer les résultats obtenus. Les lignes effectuées perpendiculairement sur un fond à faible pente (de préférence en enregistrant le sommet) serviront à vérifier la latence et le tangage dans les données. Des lignes de sondage réciproques effectuées par-dessus un fond plat, serviront à vérifier le roulis. Les lignes de sondage effectuées de chaque côté d’une entité déterminée, comme une épave, peuvent permettre de détermer les écarts du gyro.

Les données obtenues peuvent être soigneusement analysées pour effectuer les ajustements requis. Les résultats de ce test devraient être documentés, consignés et rendus disponibles sur demande. Noter que ce peut également être fait dans la zone de travail.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez « The Calibration of Shallow Water Multibeam Echo-Sounding Systems", André Godin, 1997.

Une fois que tous les ajustements et étalonnages ont été effectués, le système devrait être utilisé pour effectuer une série de lignes de sondage parallèles et perpendiculaires au-dessus d’un fond de référence dont les profondeurs ont été définies et vérifiées, à l’aide d’un système indépendant. Les résultats ainsi obtenus devraient être comparés avantageusement et dans les limites des exigences de précision mentionnées dans l’Ordre permanent, tel qu’établi dans le Tableau 1 des Normes du SHC pour les levés hydrographiques.

Des essais devraient également être effectués afin de s’assurer que le système peut détecter les entités selon les dimensions minimales requises par l’ordre du levé, tel qu’établi dans le Tableau 1 des Normes du SHC pour les levés hydrographiques.

4.1.1.2 Simple faisceau

Les échosondeurs à simple faisceau installés sur les plates-formes de sondages qui seront utilisés au cours des levés, devraient faire l’objet d’essais en conditions réelles, afin de s’assurer que leur fonctionnement soit conforme aux spécifications; il en va de même pour le reste de l’équipement. Une barre d’étalonnage devrait être utilisée pour mesurer le tirant d’eau du transducteur et pour déterminer la vitesse du son. Lorsque des résultats d’ordres supérieurs sont requis, des tests devraient être faits pour vérifier le déjaugeage et l’enfoncement de l’embarcation (« squat »), l’alignement du gyro ou du senseur d’attitude et les mesures entre les capteurs sont nécessaires.

4.2 Erreurs aléatoires

Contrairement aux erreurs systématiques, les erreurs aléatoires ne peuvent être éliminées. Toutefois, il est possible d’évaluer les incidences des erreurs aléatoires sur les résultats de levés (préanalyse), afin d’atténuer ou de réduire leurs effets (conception du levé et sélection d’instruments) et pour évaluer la qualité du levé, tant au cours du levé (assurance de la qualité en temps réel - AQTR), qu’à la fin du levé. Une évaluation d’après levé permet d’attribuer une valeur d’incertitude à chaque objet dévaluaer la qualité générale du levé pour générer des métadonnées. Ceci fournit l’information nécessaire aux utilisateurs d’ensembles de données, afin qu’ils puissent déterminer si celà répond à leurs besoins particuliers.

On peut effectuer une pré-analyse en utilisant, par exemple, une feuille de calcul EXCEL. Des valeurs pour chaque erreur aléatoire peuvent être attribuées à 1 sigma (déviation standard, valeur efficace, ECP, etc.). On appelle ceci la propagation des erreurs aléatoires. C’est très simple pour les échosondeurs à faisceau unique (voir p. ex. « Professional Paper No. 25 » de l’UKHO). Pour les échosondeurs multifaisceaux, c’est un peu plus compliqué (voir p. ex. « Accuracy Estimation of Canadian Swath (Multi-beam) and Sweep (Multi-Transducer) Sounding Systems », 1995, R. Hare, A. Godin et L. Mayer).

Plusieurs trousses de navigation et d’enregistrements de données disposent d’outils d’évaluation qui tient compte de la déviation standard de la surface bathymétrique. L’estimateur combiné de l’incertitude et de la bathymétrie (Combined Uncertainty and Bathymetry Estimator - CUBE) est un exemple d’outil d’évaluation en temps réel incorporé dans des trousses d’acquisition et de traitement de données (voir § 4.3.1). La déviation standard de la surface bathymétrique peut diminuer au fur et à mesure que de nouvelles données sont rajoutées à la surface. Il faut considérer le fait que la déviation standard de la moyenne est toujours plus petite que la déviation standard d’une mesure unique.

4.2.1 Total d'erreurs propagées (TEP)

Tel que stipulé dans les Normes du SHC pour les levés hydrographiques, la précision des profondeurs réduites doit être définie. En définissant cette précision, toutes les sources d’erreurs individuelles doivent être quantifiées pour définir l’incertitude totale propagée (TPU). Voici quelques-unes des sources d’erreurs dont il faut tenir compte :

  • réglage du tirant d’eau statique,
  • dérive du tirant d’eau dynamique, incluant le déjaugeage et d’enfoncement (« squat »),
  • changement dans la vitesse du son,
  • erreurs causées par les instruments,
  • roulis, tangage et pilonnement,
  • minutage de la navigation,
  • lecture des niveaux d’eau ou des hauteurs GPS,
  • modèles de marée ou de séparation.

L’estimation des précisions des positions et des profondeurs sont calculées séparément en tant que racine carrée des variances (résultante quadratique) de toutes les erreurs-source. Selon cette approche, aucune erreur n’est corrélée, ni compensée et elles respectent une distribution normale (gaussienne). Dans les cas où une telle hypothèse ne s’avère pas valide, une estimation de l’erreur introduite dans le processus d’évaluation sera donnée.

Comme certaines erreurs-sources ne sont pas encore bien comprises, les estimations initiales vont être fondées sur des tests élémentaires sur un nombre limité d’ensembles de données. Pour valider ces estimations, il faut utiliser des ensembles de données étalon indépendants (validation) comme méthode pour étalonner à post-priori le processus d’estimation des erreurs.

On applique l’approche de Velberg [1993] pour estimer les effets des changements temporels sur la bathymétrie. Cette approche implique que l’erreur due à la nature dynamique du fond marin est connue ou qu’elle peut être estimée.

Afin de pouvoir établir un budget d’erreurs, des estimations de toutes les erreurs-sources aléatoires indépendantes, ayant le même niveau de certitude, sont requises. Pour plus d’informations sur le TPU et le processus de calcul, consultez le document intitulé Estimation of Bathymetric Accuracy Attributes and their Implementation in the Source Data Base, 1996, R. M. Hare.

4.3 Erreurs grossiéres

Cette dernière catégorie d’erreurs comprend celles qui découlent d’erreurs grossières ou d’accidents. Contrairement aux erreurs systématiques, celles-ci ne peuvent être éliminées par des procédures minutieuses. Contrairement aux erreurs aléatoires, elles ne peuvent être estimées avant le levé et elles ne peuvent être réduites par des mesures additionnelles. Par contre, les erreurs grossières peuvent être détectées et éliminées, à condition que le levé compte suffisamment de mesures redondantes et que degré de précision soit suffisant. On utilise souvent le terme détection d’erreur imperceptibles (DEI; Minimally Detectable Blunder - MDB). Pour la bathymétrie, des ensembles de données très denses (provenant p. ex. de multifaisceaux à haute résolution) permettent de détecter des erreurs incongrues (d’un point de vue statistique) parmi les valeurs avoisinantes. Il y a de nombreuses approches statistiques pour repérer les erreurs grossières dans les données multifaisceaux.

Pour les levés effectués à l’aide d’échosondeurs à simple faisceau, la faible densité des données rend le repérage des erreurs grossières très peu probable. La fiabilité des levés multifaisceaux est beaucoup plus grande en raison de la capacité de détection. C’est pour cette raison que de tels levés sont recommandés pour les ports, les approches et les zones critiques.

CUBE utilise les sondages et leurs incertitudes estimées (voir § 4.2) comme valeurs de base et, à travers les données spatiales, une pondération des incertitudes et en se fiant à la très haute densité des données multifaisceaux, extrait une surface bathymétrique maillée et une surface d’incertitude (erreur) associée. De plus, il trace les hypothèses statistiques pour chacun des points de profondeur et tente de déterminer laquelle des valeurs est la plus probable, là où il y en a plus d’une. Ceci en fait un outil très puissant pour identifier et supprimer les erreurs dans les données. Une fois que celles-ci ont été supprimées des données, CUBE est activé une nouvelle fois pour générer des surfaces bathymétriques et d’incertitudes. Se référer au document CUBE - Traitement et analyse de données – (SHC Février 2012). La surface d’incertitude est la quantification de la qualité du levé, qui peut être comparée aux spécifications et utilisée pour créer les métadonnées du levé..

Date de modification :