Standards for Hydrographic Surveys

1 Classification of Bathymetry

To accommodate different accuracy requirements for areas to be surveyed and to classify old surveys, six orders of survey are defined. These are described below and in Table 1 and summarize the overall accuracy requirements.

Unlike IHO S44, the 100% bottom search is not compulsory. In the CHS, it is strongly recommended to obtain 100% bottom search in critical areas, but in certain circumstances (client need, costs, time, etc.), it may not be achievable.

One other major difference with the IHO S44 is the way CHS classify surveys. The classification is divided into four components: the horizontal accuracy, the vertical accuracy, the target detection capability and the type of coverage. For instance, a survey can attain an horizontal accuracy of Special Order, a vertical accuracy and a feature detection of Order 1a and the type of coverage could be 1a (complete coverage).

Table 1 Standards for Hydrographic Surveys

ORDER Exclusive Special 1a 1b 2 3
(Imprecise)
Examples of Typical areas Shallow water in Harbours, berthing areas, and associated critical channels with minimum under-keel clearances or engineering surveys Harbours, berthing areas, and associated critical channels with minimum under-keel clearances Areas shallower than 100 metres where under-keel clearance is less critical but features of concern to surface shipping may exist. Areas shallower than 100 metres where under-keel clearance is not considered to be an issue for the type of surface shipping expected to transit the area. Areas generally deeper than 100 metres where a general description of the sea floor is considered adequate. All areas where the accuracies do not meet the requirements of the previous orders
H Horizontal Accuracy (95% Confidence Level) 1m 2m 5m + 5% of depth 5m + 5% of depth 20m + 10% of depth > 20m + 10% of depth
V Depth Accuracy for Reduced Depths (95% Confidence Level) Footnote 1 a = 0.15m
b = 0.0075
a = 0.25m
b = 0.0075
a = 0.5m
b = 0.013
a = 0.5m
b = 0.013
a = 1.0m
b = 0.023
Same as order Footnote 2
D System Detection Capability Features > 0.5m cubed Features > 1m cubed Features > 2m cubed in depths up to 40 m; 10% of depth beyond 40m Footnote 3 N/A N/A N/A
C Type of coverage (M270)
1. complete coverage (multibeam, multi-transducer, acoustically swept);
2. systematic survey (single-beam echo sounder lines run parallel at pre-planned line spacing, LiDAR);
3. sparse coverage (lead-line surveys, reconnaissance, track soundings, spot soundings);
4. unsurveyed

Guidelines for single beam and punctual surveys

SBES Maximum Line Spacing Footnote 4 The lesser of: 3x average depth or 25m in depths to 10m; or 50m in depth of 10-40m; or 100m in depths deeper than 40m. Closer line spacing may be required in doubtful areas. The lesser of: 3x average depth or 200m.For Bathymetric LiDAR a spot spacing of 5x5 metres or less. The lesser of: 3x average depth or 1000m. N/A

The rows of Table 1 are explained as follows:

  • Row 1 "Examples of Typical Areas" gives examples of areas to which an order of survey might typically be applied.
  • Row 2 "Horizontal Accuracy" lists minimum positioning accuracy for each depth sounding to be achieved to meet each order of survey.
  • Row 3 "Depth Accuracy" specifies parameters to be used to calculate minimum accuracy of reduced depths to be achieved to meet each order of survey.
  • Row 4 "System Detection Capability" specifies the detection capabilities of systems used when 100% bottom search is required.
  • Row 5 “Coverage type” specifies the seabed coverage bases on the system and the methodology used to achieve a survey.
  • Row 6 "Maximum Line Spacing" is to be interpreted as:
    • Spacing of sounding lines for single beam sounders and spot soundings surveys.

This table gives the different accuracy requirements for different areas to be surveyed according to a specific order of precision. The highest accuracy requirements are found in Exclusive order while the least order of precision is given in Order 4.

Feature detection implies that the bottom will be completely insonified for the width of the multibeam or the multitransducer array and that there will be no gaps (areas of no insonification) between sounding lines. When the feature to be detected is smaller, 200% coverage is recommended. It implies that the surface insonified by the multibeam or multitransducer will be covered at least twice from a minimum of two separate passes or swaths.

This, however, does not necessarily mean that all targets will have been detected. The detection of targets as described in the various survey orders will depend on the following factors:

  • the speed of the sounding platform
  • the depth of water (multitransducer systems will not give full bottom coverage in shallow waters)
  • the stability in maintaining strait line navigation
  • beam angle
  • beam width
  • ping rate

Even though an echo sounding system may be capable of detecting target features as defined in Table 1 System Detection Capability, efforts will have to be taken to ensure that all the cubic features are found when conducting a full bottom search.

1.1 Exclusive Order

Exclusive Order hydrographic surveys are based on the IHO Special Order with higher accuracy and their use is intended to be restricted to shallow water areas (harbours, berthing areas and critical channels) where there is an optimal use of the water column and where specific critical areas with minimum under-keel clearance and bottom characteristics are potentially hazardous to vessels. This order also applies to high precision engineering surveys. All error sources must be minimized. Exclusive Order requires very precise positioning systems, closely spaced lines (when target detection is required) and a rigorous control on all aspects of the surveys.

The use of side scan sonar or multi transducer arrays or high-resolution multibeam echo sounders is required to detect the feature size to be detected. In required areas, appropriate sounding equipment and methodologies must be employed in order to ensure that all features greater than 0.5m cubed are detected. The use of side scan sonar in conjunction with multibeam or multi-transducer echo sounders may be necessary in areas where pinnacles and dangerous obstacles may be encountered.

1.2 Special Order

Special Order hydrographic surveys are intended to be restricted to specific critical areas with minimum under-keel clearance and where bottom characteristics are potentially hazardous to vessels. These areas have to be explicitly designated by the agency responsible for survey quality (harbours, berthing areas, and associated critical channels. All error sources must be minimized. Special Order requires the use of closely spaced lines (when target detection is required).

The use of side scan sonar, or multi transducer arrays, or high-resolution multibeam echo sounders is required to detect the feature size to be detected. In required areas, appropriate sounding equipment and methodologies must be employed in order to ensure that all features greater than 1m cubed are detected. The use of side scan sonar in conjunction with multibeam or multi-transducer echo sounders may be necessary in areas where pinnacles and dangerous obstacles may be encountered.

1.3 Order 1

Order 1 hydrographic surveys are intended for harbours, harbour approach channels, recommended tracks, inland navigation channels, and coastal areas of high commercial traffic density where under-keel clearance is less critical and the properties of the seafloor are less hazardous to vessels (e.g. soft silt or sand bottom). Order 1 surveys shall be limited to areas with less than 100 m water depth. Although the requirement for seafloor search is less stringent than for Exclusive Order and Special Order, full bottom search may be required in selected areas where the bottom characteristics and the risk of obstructions are potentially hazardous to vessels. In required areas, appropriate sounding equipment and methodologies must be employed in order to ensure that all features greater than 2m cubed in water depths up to 40m, or features representing 10% or more of the depth in areas deeper than 40m are detected.

1.4 Order 2

Order 2 hydrographic surveys are intended for areas with depths less than 200 m not covered by Exclusive Order, Special Order and Order 1. These are areas where a general description of the bathymetry is sufficient to ensure there are no obstructions on the seafloor that will endanger the type of vessel expected to transit or work the area. Full bottom search may be required in selected areas where the bottom characteristics and the risk of obstructions may be potentially hazardous to vessels.

1.5 Order 3

Order 3 hydrographic surveys are intended for all areas not covered by Exclusive Order, Special Order, and Orders 1 and 2 in water depths in excess of 200 m.

1.6 Imprecise order

This order is intended for the classification of old imprecise surveys. It must not be used to determine the precision of a new survey.

1.7 Order classification

The choice of technology is normally made to meet a specific order. The classification of the bathymetry is applied to a set of data and may include as many systems and/or survey vessels. The order is determined by the worst horizontal and vertical accuracy found in the data of a dataset. It is recommended to separate the data with the same type of coverage to help the identification of the survey type. It is strongly recommended to classify surveys by statistical method after completion of these surveys. If the use of statistical method is not feasible or practical, the survey techniques shall be rigorously controlled to ensure the best results.

Notes:

  • For Exclusive Order, Special Order and Order 1 surveys the Project Manager may define a depth limit beyond which a detailed investigation of the seafloor is not required for safety of navigation purposes in the surveyed areas.
  • Side scan sonar shall not be used for depth determination but to define areas requiring more detailed and accurate investigation.
Date modified:

Normes pour les levés hydrographiques

1 Classification de la bathymétrie

En vue d'une classification systématique des différentes prescriptions en matière de précision pour les zones à relever et pour permettre la classification d’anciens levés, six ordres de levés ont été définis. Ils sont décrits ci-dessous ainsi que dans le Tableau 1 qui résume l’ensemble des prescriptions et constituent, en fait, l'essentiel des normes.

Contrairement à la norme S44 de l’OHI, la couverture totale à 100% n’est pas obligatoire. Le Service hydrographique du Canada recommande très fortement d’obtenir une couverture totale dans les zones critiques, mais dans certaines circonstances (besoin des clients, les coûts, le temps, etc.), il est possible que ce ne soit pas réalisable.

Une autre différence majeure avec la norme S44 de l’OHI est la façon de classifier les levés. La classification est divisée en quatre composantes : la précision horizontale, la précision verticale, la capacité de détection d’objets et le type de couverture. Par exemple, un levé peut atteindre une précision horizontale de l’ordre spécial, une précision verticale et une capacité de détection d’objet de l’ordre 1a et le type de couverture peut être de 1a (couverture complète).

Table 1 Normes pour les levés hydrographiques

ORDRE Exclusif Spécial 1a 1b 2 3
(Imprécis)
Exemples de zones type Eaux peu profondes dans : Ports, zones d'accostage et chenaux critiques associés avec profondeur d'eau sous quille minimum, levés d’ingénierie Ports, zones d'accostage et chenaux critiques associés avec profondeur d'eau sous quille minimum. Zones de fonds inférieurs à 100 mètres où la hauteur d’eau sous quille est moins critique mais où il existe des éléments pouvant engager la sécurité de la navigation de surface Zones de fonds inférieurs à 100 mètres où la hauteur d’eau sous quille n’est pas considérée comme un problème pour le type de navigation de surface attendue dans la zone. Zones de fonds généralement supérieurs à 100 mètres où une description générale du fond est considérée comme suffisante. Toutes les zones qui ne rencontrent pas les exigences des ordres précédents
H récision horizontale (Niveau de confiance 95%) 1m 2m 5m + 5% de la profondeur 5m + 5% de la profondeur 20m + 10% de la profondeur > 20m + 10% de la profondeur
V Précision pour les profondeurs réduites (niveau de confiance 95%) Note de bas de page 1 a = 0.15m
b = 0.0075
a = 0.25m
b = 0.0075
a = 0.5m
b = 0.013
a = 0.5m
b = 0.013
a = 1.0m
b = 0.023
Identique à l’ordre Note de bas de page 2
D Capacité de détection du système Entités > 0.5m au cube Entités > 1m au cube Entités > 2m au cube dans des profon- deurs jusqu’à 40m; 10% de la profon- deur au-delà 40m Note de bas de page 3 S/O S/O S/O
C Type de couverture (M270)
1. Couverture complète (multifaisceaux, multi transducteurs, balayage acoustique);
2. Levés systématiques (Lignes de sondage simple faisceau espacées également suivant un patron prédéfini, systèmes aéroportés);
3. Couverture éparse (Levés effectués au plomb de sonde, reconnaissance, Levés en route, sondages ponctuels);
4. Non levé

Lignes directrices pour les levés simple faisceau et sondage ponctuel

SBES Espacement maximum entre les lignes Note de bas de page 4 Le plus petit de : 3x la profondeur moyenne ou 25m jusqu’à 10m de profondeur; ou 50m entre 10 et 40m de profondeur; ou 100m pour des profondeurs de plus de 40m. Un espacement de ligne plus serré peut être requis dans les zones douteuses. Le plus petit de : 3-4x la profondeur moyenne ou 200m. Le plus petit de : 3x la profondeur moyenne ou 1000m. S/O

Les différentes lignes du Tableau 1 s'expliquent comme suit :

  • Ligne 1 "Exemples de zones types" fournit des exemples de zones auxquelles un ordre de levé peut s'appliquer.
  • Ligne 2 "Précision horizontale" liste les précisions minimales de positionnement pour chaque profondeur devant être atteintes pour répondre à chaque ordre de levé.
  • Ligne 3 "Précision pour les profondeurs" indique les paramètres à utiliser pour calculer les précisions minimales des profondeurs réduites devant être obtenues pour chacun des ordres de levés.
  • Ligne 4 "Capacité de détection du système" précise les capacités de détection des systèmes utilisés pour l'investigation du fond lorsque l’investigation du fond à 100% est requise.
  • Ligne 5 "Type de couverture" spécifie la couverture du fond basée sur le système et la méthodologie utilisée pour réaliser un levé.
  • Ligne 6 "Espacement maximum entre les lignes" doit être interprété comme :
    • espacement entre les lignes de sonde pour les sondeurs simple faisceau, et
    • distance entre les limites extérieures des fauchées pour les systèmes de sondage surfacique.

Le tableau ci-dessus donne les différentes précisions requises pour les différentes régions ou zones à sonder tout dépendant de l’ordre du levé hydrographique. L’ordre Exclusif exige le niveau de précision le plus élevé alors que l’ordre 3 exige le niveau de précision le moins élevé.

La détection d’objets implique que le signal sonore couvrira le fond pour la pleine largeur du signal provenant d’un système multifaisceaux ou multi transducteurs et qu’il n’y aura pas de zones sans couverture entre deux lignes de sondage adjacentes. Quand l’objet à détecter est plus petit, une couverture de 200% est recommandée. Ceci implique que la même largeur de surface du fond marin sera couverte au moins deux fois par un minimum de deux fauchées indépendantes d’un système multifaisceaux ou multi transducteurs.

Ceci ne veut pas nécessairement dire que les éléments ou entités cubiques auront tous été détectés. La détection des entités cubiques telle que spécifiée pour les différents ordres de levés dépendra des facteurs suivants :

  • la vitesse de la plate-forme de sondage
  • la profondeur d’eau (un système multi transducteurs n’assurera pas une couverture totale dans des eaux peu profondes)
  • la stabilité de maintenir une navigation en ligne droite
  • l’angle du faisceau
  • la largeur du faisceau
  • la vitesse des impulsions sonores

Bien qu’un échosondeur soit techniquement capable de détecter les entités cubiques telles que définies à la section Capacité de détection du Tableau 1, des efforts devront être faits pour assurer que tous les éléments cubiques aient été détectés lors d’une investigation du fond à 100%.

1.1 Ordre Exclusif

Les levés hydrographiques de l'ordre Exclusif sont basés sur l’ordre Spécial de l’OHI avec une plus grande précision et leur utilisation se limite aux zones en eau peu profonde (ports, zones d'accostage, et chenaux critiques associés) où il y a utilisation optimale de la colonne d’eau disponible, où la profondeur d'eau sous quille est minimum et où les caractéristiques du fond sont potentiellement dangereuses pour les bâtiments. Cette norme est aussi applicable aux travaux d’ingénierie de grande précision. Toutes les sources d'erreur doivent être minimisées. L'ordre Exclusif requiert, en plus d’un système de positionnement très précis et l'utilisation de lignes de sonde très rapprochées (où laPage 4 of 16 Service hydrographique du Canada Normes minimales pour les levés hydrographiques Édition Décembre 2005 détection d’objets est requise) et un contrôle rigoureux des tous les aspects des levés.

L’utilisation d’un sonar à balayage latéral, ou des équipements multi transducteurs ou les échosondeurs multifaisceaux à haute résolution est requise afin d'obtenir une investigation du fond à 100%. Il faut s'assurer que les éléments cubiques de plus de 0.5x0.5x0.5m peuvent être discernés par l'équipement et les méthodes de sondage appropriés. L'utilisation du sonar à balayage latéral conjointement avec un échosondeur multifaisceaux ou avec les équipements à multi transducteurs peut s'avérer nécessaire dans les zones susceptibles d'abriter des pinacles et des obstacles dangereux.

1.2 Ordre Spécial

Les levés hydrographiques de l'ordre Spécial se limitent aux zones où la profondeur d'eau sous quille est minimum et où les caractéristiques du fond sont potentiellement dangereuses pour les bâtiments. Ces zones doivent être explicitement désignées par l'agence responsable de la qualité des levés (ports, zones d'accostage, et chenaux critiques associés). Toutes les sources d'erreur doivent être minimisées. L'ordre Spécial requiert l'utilisation de lignes de sonde très rapprochées (lorsque la détection d’objets est requise).

L’utilisation d’un sonar à balayage latéral, ou les équipements multi transducteurs, ou les échosondeurs multifaisceaux à haute résolution est requise afin de détecter les objets recherchés. Il faut s'assurer que les éléments cubiques de plus de 1x1x1m peuvent être discernés par l’équipement et les méthodes de sondage appropriés. L'utilisation du sonar à balayage latéral conjointement avec un échosondeur multifaisceaux peut s'avérer nécessaire dans les zones susceptibles d'abriter des pinacles et des obstacles dangereux.

1.3 Ordrer 1

Les levés hydrographiques de l'ordre 1 sont destinés aux ports, aux chenaux d'approche des ports, aux routes recommandées, aux voies de navigation intérieures et aux zones côtières où la densité du trafic commercial est élevée, où la profondeur d'eau sous quille est moins critique et où les caractéristiques géophysiques du fond sont moins dangereuses pour les navires (fonds sablonneux ou vaseux, par exemple). Les levés de l'ordre 1 doivent se limiter aux zones où la profondeur d'eau est inférieure à 100m. Bien que les prescriptions pour l'investigation du fond soient moins rigoureuses que pour l'ordre Exclusif et l’ordre Spécial, la couverture totale est requise dans certaines zones choisies où les caractéristiques du fond et les risques d'obstructions sont potentiellement dangereux pour les navires. Pour ces zones il convient de s'assurer que l'équipement utilisé permet de discriminer les éléments cubiques de plus de 2x2x2m dans des profondeurs pouvant atteindre 40m ou que, dans les zones plus profondes les obstacles représentant plus de 10% de la profondeur peuvent être détectés.

1.4 Ordre 2

Les levés hydrographiques de l'ordre 2 sont conçus pour les zones dont la profondeur est inférieure à 200m non couvertes par l’ordre Exclusif, l'ordre Spécial et l'ordre 1 et où une description générale de la bathymétrie suffit pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas sur le fond d'obstructions mettant en danger le type de bâtiment supposé transiter ou opérer dans la zone. La couverture totale est requise dans certaines zones choisies où les caractéristiques du fond et les risques d'obstructions sont potentiellement dangereux pour les navires.

1.5 Ordre 3

Les levés hydrographiques de l'ordre 3 sont conçus pour toutes les zones non couvertes par l’ordre Exclusif, l’ordre Spécial, ou par les ordres 1 et 2, dans des profondeurs supérieures à 200m.

1.6 Ordre Imprécis

Cet ordre a été conçu pour permettre la classification d’anciens levés imprécis excédant les précisions.

1.7 Classification par Ordre

Le choix de technologie est normalement fait en fonction de l’ordre spécifique à atteindre. La classification de la bathymétrie s’applique à un ensemble de données et peut inclure plusieurs différents systèmes et/ou embarcations. L’ordre est déterminé par la moindre précision obtenue dans un ensemble de données. Il est recommandé de séparer ayant les mêmes types de couverture afin de faciliter l’identification du type de levé. Il est fortement recommandé de classer les levés en utilisant des méthodes statistiques après avoir complété ces levés. Si l’utilisation de méthode statistique n’est pas praticable, les techniques doivent être rigoureusement contrôlées afin d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats.

Notes:

  • Pour l’ordre Exclusif, l’ordre Spécial et l’ordre 1, le chargé de projet peut définir une profondeur audelà de laquelle une investigation détaillée du fond marin n’est pas requise pour des besoins de sécurité à la navigation.
  • Les sonars à balayage latéral ne doivent pas être utilisés pour déterminer la profondeur, mais pour définir les zones requérant une investigation plus détaillée.
Date de modification :