Standards for Hydrographic Surveys

2 Position

2.1 Introduction

If the accuracy of a position is affected by different parameters, the contributions of all parameters to the total position error must be accounted for.

A statistical method, combining different error sources, for determining positioning accuracy must be adopted. The position error, at 95% confidence level, must be recorded together with the survey data (see § 8 Data Attribution).

Positions must be referenced to the World Geodetic System 84 (WGS 84) or the North American Datum 83 (NAD 83, CSRS). It is important to understand and document which coordinate system was used to account for the fact that these two systems are no longer considered equivalent.

Whenever positions are determined by terrestrial systems, redundant lines of position shall be observed. Standard quality assurance checks techniques shall be completed prior to, during and after the acquisition of data. Satellite systems shall be capable of tracking at least five satellites simultaneously, and integrity monitoring for Exclusive Order, Special Order and Order 1a surveys is recommended.

2.2 Horizontal Control

Primary shore control points shall be established by ground survey methods to a relative accuracy of 1 part in 100,000. When geodetic satellite positioning methods are used to establish such points, the error shall not exceed 10cm at 95% confidence level with respect to WGS84 or NAD83 (CSRS).

Secondary stations for local positioning which will not be used for extending the control shall be located such that the error does not exceed 1 part in 10,000 for ground survey techniques or 50cm at 95% confidence level using geodetic satellite positioning.

For more information on GPS positioning, refer to the appropriate national and/or provincial geodetic agencies.

2.3 Soundings

The position of soundings, dangers, and all other significant submerged features shall be determined such that the horizontal accuracy is as specified in Table 1.

The accuracy of the position of a sounding is the accuracy at the position of the sounding on the bottom located within a geodetic reference frame.

2.4 Navigation Aids and other Features

The horizontal positions and/or elevations of navigation aids and other conspicuous features shall be determined to the accuracy stated in Table 2, at 95% confidence level.

The order to use for the positioning of navigation aids and other features such as bridge piers, wall, clearances, etc. should be determined in accordance with the importance for the safety of navigation in the surveyed area. As an example, bridge piers located along a critical channel have a higher significance than those located in an intertidal area and should therefore be positioned with higher accuracy. The examples of typical areas stated in Table 1 can be used as a guideline.

Table 2: Standards for Positioning of Navigation Aids and Important Features

Exclusive Order Special Order Order 1a Order 1b Order 2
HOR VER HOR VER HOR VER HOR VER HOR VER
Fixed aids to navigation and features significant to navigation 20cm 30cm 50cm 50cm 1m 1m 3m 2m 10m 3m
Mean position of floating aids to navigation.1 5m N/A 10m N/A 15m N/A 20m N/A 25m N/A
Natural Coastline (high and low water lines) 2m N/A 5m N/A 10m N/A 20m N/A 75m N/A
Topographical features (not significant for navigation) 5m 30cm 10m 50cm 15m 1m 20m 2m 25m 3m
Overhead clearances 1m 30cm 3m 50cm 5m 1m 10m 2m 10m 3m
Range line and sector lights limits azimuths All range lines and sector lights limits must be drifted to confirm the theoretical azimuth. The maximum difference between the theoretical and drift azimuths is : 0.5°
Date modified:

Normes pour les levés hydrographiques

2 Positionnement

2.1 Introduction

La précision d'une position est la précision de la position d'un élément (sonde, aide à la navigation, par ex.) devant être situé dans un cadre de référence géodésique (voir 2.4 Tableau 3).

Si la précision d'une position est affectée par différents paramètres, il convient de tenir compte de la contribution de tous les paramètres à l'erreur de position totale.

Une méthode statistique, combinant les différentes sources d'erreur, doit être adoptée en vue de déterminer la précision du positionnement. L'erreur de position pour un niveau de confiance de 95% doit être enregistrée conjointement avec les données relatives au levé (voir 8 Assignation d’attributs aux données).

Les positions doivent être rapportées au système géodésique mondial de 1984 (WGS 84) ou le système de référence de l’Amérique du nord 83 (NAD 83).Il est important de comprendre et de documenter le système de référence utilisé pour tenir compte du fait que ces 2 systèmes de référence ne sont plus considérés comme équivalents.

À chaque fois où les positions sont déterminées au moyen de systèmes terrestres, des lignes de position redondantes doivent être observées. Les techniques usuelles d'étalonnage doivent être appliquées avant, pendant et après l'acquisition des données. Les systèmes à satellites doivent pouvoir poursuivre au moins cinq satellites simultanément et le contrôle de l'intégrité est recommandé pour les levés de l'ordre Exclusif, de l’ordre Spécial et de l'ordre 1a.

2.2 Contrôle horizontal

Les points directeurs principaux doivent être positionnés au moyen des méthodes de levés terrestres avec une exactitude relative de 1 partie pour 100 000. Lorsque sont utilisées les méthodes géodésiques de positionnement satellitaire pour l'établissement de ces points, l'erreur ne doit pas dépasser 10cm pour un niveau de confiance de 95% en rapport au WGS84 ou NAD83 (SCRS).

Les stations secondaires pour le positionnement local qui ne seront pas utilisées pour étendre le canevas doivent être positionnées de telle sorte que l'erreur ne dépasse pas 1:10 000 pour les techniques de levé terrestre ou 50cm pour un niveau de confiance de 95% en utilisant les méthodes géodésiques de positionnement satellitaire.

Pour obtenir plus d’informations sur le positionnement GPS, se référer aux agences géodésiques nationales ou provinciales appropriés.

2.3 Positionnement des sondes

La position des sondes, des dangers ainsi que de tout autre élément immergé important doit être déterminée de telle sorte que la précision horizontale soit celle indiquée dans le Tableau 1.

L'exactitude de la position d'une sonde est celle de sa position sur le fond déterminée dans un système de référence géodésique.

2.4 Aides à la navigation et éléments importants

Les positions horizontales et/ou les élévations des aides à la navigation ainsi que des autres entités remarquables doivent être déterminées avec les précisions énoncées dans le Tableau 2, à un niveau de confiance de 95%.

L’ordre à utiliser pour le positionnement des aides à la navigation et autres entités tels que les piliers de ponts, les murs, les hauteurs libres, etc. devrait être déterminé selon leur l’importance pour la sécurité de la navigation dans la région du levé. À titre d’exemple, les piliers de ponts situés le long d’un chenal critique pour la navigation a une signification plus grande que ceux situés dans une zone intertidale et devrait donc être positionnés avec une plus grande précision. Les zones types stipulées dans le tableau 1 peuvent être utilisés comme guide.

Tableau 2: Normes pour la détermination de la position des aides à la navigation et des éléments importants

Ordre Exclusif Ordre Spécial Ordre 1a Ordre 1b Ordre 2
HOR VER HOR VER HOR VER HOR VER HOR VER
Aides à la navigation fixes et éléments importants pour la navigation (amers) 20cm 30cm 50cm 50cm 1m 1m 3m 2m 10m 3m
Position moyenne des aides à la navigation flottantes11 5m S/O 10m S/O 15m S/O 20m S/O 25m S/O
Lignes de côte naturelles (ligne des basses et hautes eaux) 2m S/O 5m S/O 10m S/O 20m S/O 75m S/O
Éléments topographiques (pas importants pour la navigation) 5m 30cm 10m 50cm 15m 1m 20m 2m 25m 3m
Dégagements verticaux 1m 30cm 3m 50cm 5m 1m 10m 2m 10m 3m
Azimut des alignements de route et des feux secteurs Tous les alignements de route ainsi que les limites des feux secteurs doivent être dérivés afin de confirmer l’azimut théorique. La différence maximum entre l’azimut théorique et celle dérivée est de 0.5°
Date de modification :