Standards for Hydrographic Surveys

3 Vertical Datum

3.1 Sounding Datum

All depths must be reduced to a low water datum, which can be defined as “a level where the water level will but seldom fall below it during the navigation season”.

In tidal waters, soundings are reduced to Lowest Low Water Large Tide (LLWLT) whereas in non-tidal waters the soundings are reduced to a low water datum determined from long term (period) water level records.

Sounding datum must be referred to a minimum of 3 vertical benchmarks whose elevations must be determined to the accuracy stated in the Canadian Tidal Manual.

3.2 Datum for elevations

All elevations and clearances must be referenced to a specific datum. In tidal waters, elevations and clearances are referenced to Higher High Water Large Tide (HHWLT). In non-tidal waters, elevations are referenced to sounding datum (ex. IGLD ’85).

3.3 Water Level Observations

Water level observations should be made throughout the course of a survey for the purpose of:

  1. Providing water level reductions for soundings.
  2. Providing data for tidal analysis and subsequent tidal constituent determination and prediction. For new sites or sites with poor historical records, observations should extend over the longest possible period and preferably not less than 29 days.
  3. To establish the vertical datum, (both Low Water and High Water), of an area. For this purpose, observations should extend over the longest possible period.

Water level heights should be observed so that the total measurement error at the gauging station, including timing and filtering errors, does not exceed +/- 5cm at 95% confidence level for Exclusive Order and Special Order surveys, for tidal analysis and for the determination of vertical datum. For other orders +/- 10cm at 95% confidence level should not be exceeded.

In order for the bathymetric data to be fully exploited in the future using advanced satellite observation techniques, water level observations and consequently sounding datum should be related both to a low water datum (usually Chart Datum) and also to a geocentric reference system, preferably the World Geodetic System 84 (WGS 84) ellipsoid or the North American Datum 1983 (NAD83) ellipsoid.

Independent water level measurement techniques should be used to verify the calibration and operation of the water level gauge. As a minimum, these are to be made at the beginning and the end of the tide gauge deployment and if possible at both high and low stage and more frequently during sounding operations.

Date modified:

Normes pour les levés hydrographiques

3 Référence verticale

3.1 Zéro des sondes

Les profondeurs doivent être réduites à un niveau de référence minimum qui peut être défini comme une référence « si basse que le niveau d’eau ne tombera pratiquement jamais au-dessous durant la saison de navigation ».

Dans les eaux à marées les sondages sont réduits à la basse mer inférieure, grande marée (BMIGM) alors que dans les eaux sans marées les sondages sont réduits à un niveau de basse eaux déterminé à partir d’enregistrements de niveaux d’eau.

Le zéro des sondes doit être rattaché à un minimum de trois repères altimétriques dont les élévations doivent être déterminées avec une précision telle que décrite dans le Manuel canadien des marées.

3.2 Le niveau de référence pour les altitudes

Toutes les altitudes et les hauteurs libres doivent être référées à un niveau de référence spécifique. Dans les eaux à marée les altitudes et les hauteurs libres sont référées à la pleine mer supérieure, grande marée (PMSGM), alors que pour les eaux sans marées elles sont référées aux zéro des sondes (par exemple IGLD’85).

3.3 Observation des niveaux d’eau

Les observations relatives à la hauteur de marée ou du niveau d’eau doivent être effectuées au cours d'un levé pour :

  • fournir des informations relatives à la réduction de la marée et des niveaux d’eau pour les sondes
  • fournir les données nécessaires à l'analyse des niveaux d’eau et de la marée, à la détermination des constituants de marées et les prédictions, pour lesquelles les observations doivent s'étaler sur la période la plus longue possible avec un minimum de 29 jours.
  • Pour établir une référence verticale dans une région. Pour ce besoin, des observations devraient être faites sur la plus longue période possible.

Les hauteurs de marée et des niveaux d’eau doivent être observées de manière à ce que l'erreur totale de mesurage au marégraphe, y compris l'erreur de synchronisation, ne dépasse pas ± 5 cm à un niveau de confiance de 95% pour les levés de l’ordre Spécial SHC, de l'ordre Spécial, pour l’établissement de références verticales et pour l’analyse de marées. En ce qui concerne les autres ordres il ne doit pas dépasser ± 10 cm.

Afin que les données bathymétriques soient pleinement exploitées à l'avenir en utilisant les techniques d'observation satellitaire, les observations de marées et des niveaux d’eau doivent être référencées à la fois à un niveau de référence des basses mers (la PBMA généralement) ainsi qu'à un système de référence géocentrique de préférence l'ellipsoïde du système géodésique mondial 84 (WGS 84) ou le système de référence de l’Amérique du nord 83 (NAD 83).

Une méthode indépendante de mesure de niveau d’eau doit être utilisée pour vérifier l’étalonnage et le bon fonctionnement des mesureurs de niveaux d’eau. Au minimum, ces mesures devraient être effectuées au début et à la fin de la période de déploiement ainsi qu’aux périodes de hautes et basses marées.

Date de modification :