Week 2

August 23, 2015

Island living and birdwatching

Panel 1

Navigation beacons and ranges on Eta Island in Simpson Strait

Panel 3

Two young hawks perched on top of a beacon

Panel 2

A young hawk perches on top of a beacon

During the night, the Laurier carried on conducting multibeam seabed surveys in the area.  The morning brought another beautiful sunny day in Simpson Strait, with temperatures about 5℃ with 15 knot winds from the southeast.  We anchored the ship near Eta Island this morning, a tiny uninhabited piece of land located between the Adelaide Peninsula and King William Island that occupies a strategic location for navigation and anchorage, and contains multiple beacons across the island to allow mariners to safely transit through Simpson Strait.

The order of tasks today saw the hydrographic launches Kinglett and Gannet in the water shortly after breakfast to expand surveys on the marine corridor, followed by the deployment of Investigator as Parks Canada tested their new multibeam system.  The helicopter was also dispatched with CCG staff to support the ongoing inspection and maintenance being conducted on various navigational aids, including beacons and towers, scattered throughout the Strait. 

Following lunch, the helicopter was re-tasked to support archaeology efforts. One of the Parks Canada archaeologists was retrieved from the Erebus site for transfer to the Laurier for the onset of the Terror mission, while the Nunavut archaeologists flew out to an island near the Erebus site where they conducted additional ground surveys and collected several artefacts believed to be associated with Franklin from the area.

By dinner time, the level of success achieved on all fronts was high and event beyond the standard operations. Two towers had even become active habitats for some rough-legged hawks families! Fortunately, the towers were in good shape as we do not disturb wildlife in the process of our work. Locations of the nests were noted, and the occupied beacons will be repainted next year.

Date modified:

Semaine 2

23 août 2015

La vie sur l’île et l’observation d’oiseaux

Panel 1

Des balises de navigation et d’alignement sur l’ile Eta dans le détroit de Simpson

Panel 3

Deux jeunes faucons sur une balise

Panel 2

Un jeune faucon perché sur une balise

Durant la nuit, le Laurier a continué à réaliser des relevés des fonds marins avec le système multifaisceaux dans la zone.  Une nouvelle belle journée ensoleillée s'est annoncée dans le détroit de Simpson, avec des températures d'environ 5 °C et des vents sud-est de 15 nœuds.  Nous avons jeté l'ancre près de l'île Eta ce matin, un minuscule morceau de terre sauvage qui se trouve entre la presqu'île Adelaide et l'île King William, située à un emplacement stratégique pour la navigation et le mouillage, et sur laquelle sont réparties de nombreuses balises afin que les navigateurs puissent franchir le détroit de Simpson en toute sécurité.

Pour ce qui est des tâches du jour, le Kinglett et le Gannet, les deux vedettes hydrographiques, ont été mises à l'eau peu après le déjeuner afin d'effectuer des relevés dans le corridor maritime, puis l'Investigator a été mis en service, Parcs Canada testant le nouveau système multifaisceaux.  L'hélicoptère, avec à son bord le personnel de la GCC, a également été envoyé en renfort des travaux d'inspection et d'entretien en cours sur les différentes aides à la navigation, y compris les balises et les tours, qui sont réparties dans le détroit.

À l'issue du dîner, l'hélicoptère a été chargé d'aller assister les archéologues. L'un des archéologues de Parcs Canada a quitté le site de l'Erebus afin de rejoindre le Laurier pour le début de la mission Terror, tandis que les archéologues du Nunavut se sont rendus sur une île près du site de l'Erebus par la voie des airs, où ils ont effectué d'autres levés au sol et collecté plusieurs artefacts dans la zone, dont on pense qu'ils sont liés à l'expédition Franklin.

À l'heure du souper, le taux de succès était élevé, non seulement pour les opérations normales, mais aussi sur les autres fronts. Deux tours étaient même devenues l'habitat actif de familles de buses pattues! Heureusement, les tours étaient en bon état, car nous ne dérangeons pas la faune lorsque nous menons nos activités. Les emplacements des nids ont été relevés, et les balises occupées seront repeintes l'année prochaine.

Date de modification :