Week 5

September 12, 2015

A call is made to end the mission

Captain Stuart Aldridge communicating via radio from the bridge of CCGS Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Chief Officer James Garrett in background. (Photo: Department of National Defence)

This morning featured wind speeds over 30 knots and building seas. The forecast is expecting both to keep increasing, reaching up to 40 knots by late tonight or early tomorrow.  By late morning, Captain Aldridge, in consultation with Parks archaeologist Ryan Harris and Hydrographer-in-Charge Tim Janzen, made the decision to end the northern mission.  And with that, we sailed south out of Victoria Strait, leaving HMS Terror undiscovered for another season. 

While mission operations ended a day earlier than scheduled, this year's mission has enjoyed weeks of uninterrupted calm seas and warm temperatures, and has proved extraordinarily productive in navigation, Arctic charting and archaeology. 

CCG chef Harold Steed preparing dinner for those onboard CCGS Sir Wilfrid Laurier

CCG Seaman Skye McEwan adjusts guy wires on a beacon tower.

Just before dinner, we took safe harbour at Jenny Lind Island and anchored for the night.  Wind gusts reached 50 knots and the first flurries of the season officially arrived.  Tomorrow, we'll head toward Simpson Strait where more navigational aids require servicing, and our supernumeraries will start packing to head south for the winter.

Date modified:

Semaine 5

12 septembre 2015

Un appel met fin à la mission

Le capitaine Stuart Aldridge communique via radio à partir du pont du NGCC Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Le second James Garrett se trouve en arrière-plan. (Photo : ministère de la Défense nationale)

Ce matin, les vents atteignaient plus de 30 nœuds et les vagues prenaient de la force. Les prévisions indiquaient que le tout continuerait d'empirer, les vents pouvant atteindre jusqu'à 40 nœuds en soirée ou tôt demain.  Vers la fin de la matinée, le capitaine Aldridge, en consultation avec Ryan Harris, l'archéologue de Parcs Canada, et Tim Janzen, l'hydrographe en chef, ont décidé de mettre fin à la mission septentrionale.  Nous avons donc mis le cap vers le sud pour sortir du détroit de Victoria, l'emplacement du NSM Terror étant toujours un mystère.

Bien que les opérations de la mission aient pris fin un jour plus tôt que prévu, cette année, l'équipage a pu profiter de longues semaines de mer calme et de températures chaudes, et la mission s'est avérée extrêmement productive en matière de navigation, d'archéologie et de cartographie dans l'Arctique.

Harold Steed, chef de la GCC, prépare le souper pour les membres à bord du NGCC Sir Wilfrid Laurier.

Skye McEwan, matelot de la GCC, ajuste des fils de retenue sur une tour de balise.

Juste avant le souper, nous sommes arrivés en sécurité à l'île Jenny Lind, où nous avons jeté l'ancre pour la nuit.  Les rafales ont atteint 50 nœuds et nous avons assisté aux premières rafales de neige de la saison.  Demain, nous naviguerons vers le détroit de Simpson, où d'autres aides à la navigation nécessitent un entretien. Les surnuméraires commenceront également à plier bagage en vue de leur retour au sud pour l'hiver.

Date de modification :