Tim Janzen Biography

Tim Janzen is the Hydrographer-in-Charge with Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Canadian Hydrographic Service assigned to the 2015 Western Arctic mission. As Hydrographer-In-Charge, Mr. Janzen is responsible for planning and leading the multi-disciplinary Arctic mapping missions conducted aboard both the Canadian Coast Guard’s icebreaking vessel CCGS Sir Wilfrid Laurier (using the launches CSL Kinglett and CSL Gannet), the Parks Canada launch Investigator and the Royal Canadian Navy’s HMCS Moncton.

Using state-of-the-art technologies, Mr. Janzen and his dedicated team of experts are systematically examining the Arctic seabed to gather and analyze data regarding ocean depths and bottom topography – information that it is hoped will be used to provide confirmation of the identity of the sunken HMS Terror, of the ill-fated Franklin Expedition, should it be detected in the 2015 survey. During the mission, Janzen’s highly trained team will collect substantial amounts of bathymetric, topographic and tidal information to contribute directly to navigational charts and the enhancement of marine safety in Canada’s emerging Arctic transportation corridors.

Having graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering, Janzen joined the Canadian Hydrographic Service in 1992, and was promoted to Hydrographer-in-charge in 2002. He has practiced in several areas, predominantly relating to harbour engineering and hydrographic surveying, and has led ship, land and ice-based hydrographic survey programs in the Arctic for nearly three decades, as well as survey programs spanning the Great Lakes and Lake Winnipeg. Mr. Janzen holds a commission with the Association of Canada Lands Surveyors and is a registered member of Professional Engineers Ontario.

Mr. Janzen is a native of Clarkleigh, Manitoba and currently resides in Burlington, Ontario with his wife and three children.

Date modified:

Biographie de Tim Janzen

Tim Janzen est l’hydrographe responsable du Service hydrographique du Canada du ministère des Pêches et des Océans affecté à la mission de 2015 dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, M. Janzen se charge de planifier et de diriger les missions de cartographie multidisciplinaires dans l’Arctique qui sont menées à bord du brise-glace de la Garde côtière canadienne NGCC Sir Wilfrid Laurier (à l’aide des embarcations VHC Kinglett et VHC Gannet), de la vedette de Parcs Canada Investigator et du NCSM Moncton de la Marine royale canadienne.

M. Janzen et son équipe dévouée se servent de technologies de pointe pour examiner systématiquement le plancher océanographique de l’Arctique afin de recueillir et d’analyser des données sur la profondeur de l’océan et sur la topographie sous-marine. Ces données espère-t-on permettront de confirmer l’identité de l’épave du NSM Terror, de la funeste expédition de Franklin, si l’on parvient à la repérer lors du levé de 2015. Durant la mission, l’équipe hautement qualifiée de M. Janzen réunira une quantité considérable de données sur la bathymétrie, la topographie et les marées qui serviront à établir des cartes hydrographiques et à améliorer la sécurité maritime dans les nouveaux corridors de transport dans l’Arctique canadien.

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie civil de l’Université du Manitoba, M. Janzen a été embauché par le Service hydrographique du Canada en 1992 et a été promu au poste d’hydrographe responsable en 2002. Il a exercé sa profession dans plusieurs domaines, principalement dans ceux se rapportant au génie portuaire et au relevé hydrographique, et a dirigé des programmes de levés hydrographiques sur l’eau, sur terre et sur glace dans l’Arctique depuis près de trois décennies ainsi que des programmes de relevés s’étendant sur les Grands Lacs et le lac Winnipeg. M. Janzen est titulaire d’un brevet délivré par l’Association des arpenteurs des terres du Canada et est membre agréé de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario.

M. Janzen est originaire de Clarkleigh, au Manitoba, et habite actuellement à Burlington, en Ontario, avec son épouse et ses trois enfants.

Date de modification :